Connect with us

Meeting Reports

Unlimited National Bangers Supreme Championship – 23/03/2019 – Mildenhall

The 2019 season at Mildenhall kicked off in style with the Unlimited National Bangers BBA Supreme Championship with the BriSCA Formula 2 Stock Cars and National Saloon Stock Cars also in action – making their first appearances at the track in 2019.

A near triple-figure entry of Unlimited National Bangers gathered at a pleasantly warm Mildenhall Stadium for their 2019 BBA Supreme Championship where 617 Jack Overy fought to defend the crown, he won twelve months prior.
He had company however, with some of the quickest drivers in the sport in attendance including the 2018 Champion of the World, 124 ‘Oris’ Carl Korszewski.
Former Supreme Championship winners also in attendance included: 348 ‘Mushy’ Sonny Sherwood, 247 ‘Bro’ Lee Clarke, 328 Dan Lathan and 22 Dave Vincent.
As well as all the seeded entries, around another 60 cars were booked in for the last chance races before the main event.

The first last chance qualifier started quietly until 733 Ricky Stroud delivered a T-bone 146 Daniel Wigman on turn four. That also stopped 160 Shayn Winsor in his tracks, as well as 122 Mark Cooper Jnr and 326 Shane Lynn.
733 Stroud then went on the attack again – this time meeting 90 Adrian Harbord on the nose. 741 Charlie Daniels then hit Stroud over his rear right wheel as 146 Wigman went for a revenge shot on Stroud.
726 Sam Bye then hit Wigman through the passenger doors just by the start-finish line as 898 Andy Battle went in on Stroud in his Vauxhall Omega Limo.
215 ‘Gouldie’ then jacked the ‘Wild-Boyz’ car of 746 on the back straight leaving the Volvo saloon completely ruined. As he reversed out, he was clipped by 160 Perry Willings sending the later into a spin.
103 Jack Deacon was sat stationary at the end of the back straight and hit hard by 741 Daniels ruining his Ford Scorpio Saloon.
114 ‘Lakey’ Liam Lake came through to win.

The second last chance qualifier started in similar fashion and was quite a bit quieter than the first race. 58 Joe Brown was hit through the passenger doors by 506 Danny Mitchell.
433 Barry Carter was jacked on the exit of turn four by 276 who was in turn jacked by Brown. A gaggle of cars then came through and pushed their way through as a small pile-up formed momentarily.
17 Kyle Overy followed in 556 Matt Tillow over on turn’s one and two.
528 ‘Jethro’ Alan Hunt won with a very poorly sounding Jaguar.

617 Jack Overy took the lead early on in the Supreme Final after a great start but was coming under increasing pressure from 673 Darren Fendley – with the pair engaged in a great battle for the race lead.
Fendley was then disposed of on turn two by shale-specialist 22 Dave Vincent, who was subsequently spun out by 200 Steve Noon on the back straight.
There was loads of action throughout for Overy to negotiate, including 247 ‘Bro’ Lee Clarke meeting DWO man 341 Andrew Jones head-on by the start finishing line multiple times, crippling the front end of his Mercedes saloon.
The Money Team driver 592 Mark Marchant went up the armco on the back straight before coming crashing down, damaging his front left suspension before meeting 348 ‘Mushy’ Sonny Sherwood on the nose.
A small pile-up then formed on turn three with 114 ‘Lakey’ Liam Lake nailing 204 ‘Charlie-Boy’ Charlie King.
Long-time race leader Overy nearly became stuck in the carnage on the final lap but scrapped his way through to retain the title he won in 2018.
After the race, Overy commented: “It was good racing, it’s always good round here with that many cars.
“It wasn’t easy, but I’m old, aren’t I?! So, it’s just that bit of extra experience.”
World Champion 124 ‘Oris’ Carl Korszewski came home second with 242 Rick Korpiela coming home third having led the opening lap or two.

Over 50 cars gathered on track for the first allcomers of the night – which was an absolutely savage affair with a big track blockage on turn two.
There was a big push going into turn’s one and two from the mid-pack at the start. 841 Philip Jennings got caught up with 732 Danny Stroud and was hit by 726 Sam Bye who was in turn jacked by 181 Grant Doe.
43 Luke Maynard got tangled up with 570 Jordan Cumming on the exit of turn two and went on two wheels, nearly rolling his Mercedes estate. 356 Harry Overy then clipped the stranded Maynard car breaking his front left suspension forcing him to retire.
Meanwhile, 733 Ricky Stroud turned it round and met 321 Kieran Fry on the nose on turn four with 317 Calum Jacobs also connecting with Stroud as well.
Stroud then met 160 Perry Willings head-on on turn three as 284 James Head also piled into Willings after he hit him over the front left wheel moments earlier.
43 Maynard then came crashing into 733 Stroud just as 97 James Maddison jacked 661 Shaun Smith on turn three, spinning him out.
36 Ricky Lewis was spun on the home straight by 309 Michael Lane and jacked by 932 Rhys Reed with a solid shot.
Lewis was officially declared the winner having completed the most number of laps with no cars left running after a chaotic and very hard-hitting first allcomers race.

As you may have expected given the destructive nature of the first allcomers race, around 30 came out for the second – which is still very impressive.
It was a much quieter affair but still saw some cracking action.
It started with 733 Stroud hitting 160 Shayn Winsor on the nose before 43 Maynard delivered a hit over Stroud’s front left wheel. 160 Willings then jacked Stroud with more cars getting caught up in the action on the home straight.
97 Maddison then met Stroud on the nose just as he was jacked by 326 Shane Lynn. 341 Andrew Jones then met Lynn on the nose and 160 Willings pilled in over the rear right corner.
‘Jonesy’ then came steaming in to Lynn’s car head-on and was subsequently jacked by 328 Dan Lathan. 317 Jacobs then came in to finish ‘Jonesy’ with another hit over his right rear.
309 Michael Lane came through to win.

The Destruction Derby raised a handful of cars which saw 577 Alfie Lee meet 662 Dalton Smith on the nose, snapping the former’s Volvo estate.
623 ‘Tricky’ Ricky Hutton won the DD with a terrific full contact wrecking display jacking both 317 Jacobs and 577 Lee.
The National Bangers provided some great crashing all the way through with plenty more meeting to come from them throughout the season.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Meeting Reports